What number president was Andrew Jackson?

FAQ: What Number President Was Andrew Jackson?

President Andrew Jackson was the seventh president of the United States of America.

His presidential term lasted from March 4, 1829 — March 4, 1837. His vice presidents included John C. Calhoun from 1829-1832 and Martin Van Buren from 1833-1837, who succeeded Jackson as the eighth president.

Andrew Jackson’s presidency marked a radical change for a still fairly young nation. He believed the President of the United States should stand up for the common man, and changed what it meant to be the voice of the people. In doing so, he made revolutionary changes to the nation.

Almost the Sixth President

In 1824, Jackson ran for president and received more popular votes than his opponent, John Quincy Adams. Despite receiving the most popular votes, Jackson did not receive enough Electoral College votes to be elected. The decision fell to the House of Representatives who met on February 9, 1825. They elected John Quincy Adams with House Speaker Henry Clay as Adams’ chief supporter.

Jackson graciously accepted his defeat until Adams named Henry Clay as his Secretary of State. This confirmed Jackson’s suspicions that the two men had reached a “corrupt bargain” and deprived the American people of their popular choice for president.

Read more about Jackson’s candidacy and race for presidency.

Two Terms for President Andrew Jackson

Although several presidents and founding fathers hinted at the idea that a president should not serve more than two terms, the term limit of a president was not actually established until March 21, 1947, under the 22nd amendment to the United States Constitution.

Jackson did not continue his presidency into a third term but instead continued to demonstrate significant influence in the government after his presidency. He had a devout following, extensive connections and ample experience that made him a major player in elections and decisions beyond his two terms in office.

Read more about Andrew Jackson’s presidency.